, since we know not the hour.

SENT: Monday, February 8, 2010 3:32PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: HELP!!1!

Dad,

I think there might be a ringworm in my chest! :O Do you know where we keep the card that has all the emergency numbers? I’m gonna try to get it checked out.

Love ya,
Dave
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Monday, February 8, 2010 5:09PM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: RE: HELP!!1!

David,

Are you serious? It’s on top of the fridge. Please let me know what Dr. Criswold says ASAP.

Love,
Dad

P.S.
Does Mom know?
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Tuesday, February 9, 2010 9:52AM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: RE: RE: HELP!!1!

No she doesn’t. And yeah, it’s pretty gross. There are two red circular bumps in between my pecs. They’ve been there for a while but I didn’t think anything of it until today. I have an appointment at 10:30 tomorrow, so I’ll let you know what he says then.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Tuesday, February 9, 2010 10:12AM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: RE: RE: RE: HELP!!1!

Sounds good bud.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Tuesday, February 9, 2010 2:16PM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: Interesting video

Thought you’d like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaIvk1cSyG8

Hope your day is great!

-Dad
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Wednesday, February 10, 2010 5:42PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: Not a ringworm…..

Dad,

He said it’s not a ringworm, but he’s worried it could be something worse. He wants me back for tests tomorrow, but I had plans already. Are you around this weekend, or do you think I’d be able to meet with him then? I really don’t want to have to do any blood samples or anything :/

-Dave
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Wednesday, February 10, 2010 8:01PM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: RE: Not a ringworm…..

You should go, bud. You don’t want to put this stuff off.

I’ll be around this weekend, so we can do something then. Would you be interested in going to see The Book of Eli again? I haven’t seen it yet, and I’d enjoy seeing it with you if you think it’s worth seeing a second time.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Thursday, February 11, 2010 11:32AM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: RE: RE: Not a ringworm…..

Ok. Yeah, I’d see it again. I’m free Saturday after 9.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Wednesday, February 17, 2010 9:50AM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: Any word?

Hey bud,

Just checking to see if you’ve gotten the test results back. Does Dr. Criswold have any idea what it is? Let me know.

I’m so proud of you.

Love,
Dad
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Friday, February 19, 2010 2:44PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: RE: Any word?

Sorry for not responding sooner—he just got the results today. Apparently it looks like Lyme’s disease, but they’re hesitant to say for sure. You can call him if you want more of the specifics. His number is: (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Friday, February 19, 2010 6:25PM
TO: Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
SUBJECT: RE: RE: Any word?

David, that’s really not good. Were you playing outside? Did you notice any tics at all? How long ago did you say you saw this?

Also, does Mom know? What did she say?

Love,
Dad
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Friday, February 19, 2010 6:31PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: RE: RE: RE: Any word?

I haven’t been outside much at all, and I didn’t notice any tics. It started about 5 months ago, but I never really paid much attention to it. It didn’t seem like that big a deal. He’s got some antibiotics that he said should fix it up, so I’m not really that worried. We’ll see.

P.S.
Just got around to watching the video you sent me a while back. It’s so funny! I’ve seen it before though. Check out this remix: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBrd_oQIt-w.
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Friday, February 26, 2010 4:09PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: Post-treatment?

Dad,

Dr. Criswold says I’m post-treatment (PTLDS) and that they need to do more tests. He’s worried that there may be more than one problem also (he mentioned melanoma). I spent a while this afternoon looking around the internet and found some information on it. I’m doing everything people say I should, but these websites are saying that it’s really out of my hands. I’m getting pretty worried.

I’ll see you tonight.

Love,
David
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Wednesday, March 3, 2010 1:56PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: I have melanoma AND lyme

I went to the emergency room today and they said I have melanoma and Lyme’s Disease. Both of them are in the late stage, so they’re booking me for the next few days to do a bunch of tests. I’ll probably have to stay at the hospital for a while after, because they said it’s probable that things will get much worse. Mom’s gonna call you about it later, but I wanted to give you a heads up. Please pray. I love you.

-Dave
 
 
 
 
 
SENT: Friday, July 23, 2010 6:31PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: Bring a book?

My phone died, so sorry for any missed calls. Could you bring my copy of William Gass’ Omensetter’s Luck when you come tomorrow? I finished up The Recognitions today (it was incredible!) and am really bored. They moved me to a new wing today and it’s a lot quieter.

Thanks,
Dave
 
 
 
 
 
DRAFT: Tuesday, October 19, 2010 11:52PM
TO: cphicks@aol.com
SUBJECT: Thanks

Dear Dad,

Our talk today meant so much to me. Thanks for being
 
 
 
 
 
RECEIVED: Thursday, December 30, 2010 4:10AM
FROM: Support@outlook.com
SUBJECT: Delivery failed

Delivery has failed to these recipients or groups:

Dave.hicks@gordon.edu
The e-mail address you entered couldn’t be found. Please check the recipient’s e-mail address and try to resend the message. If the problem continues, please contact your helpdesk.

2 responses to “, since we know not the hour.

  1. haahaahha what!! i hope this isn’t true, i don’t remember hearing about any of this. fiction, i see? haha good job.

  2. This is sad. 😦

What'd you think?

